Puppy Raiser?

Puppy Raiser? I didn’t know there was such a thing!

I found out about Guide Dogs for the Blind and their puppy raisers at an FFA meeting at Bret Harte High School. When I heard the leader and a volunteer talking about raising puppies, I became interested in participating as part of my FFA project. I had to do plenty of research about raising a puppy and what needs to happen before you get a puppy. I talked to my FFA advisor about what I should do and who I needed to talk to. She told me I would need to get it approved by the school and that I had to talk to teachers about bringing the dog into class. After a couple of weeks of researching, I finally went to my first meeting. That night of my first meeting, I met the leader – Angie – and group down at the local “Holiday Open House” in Murphys. That evening I was even able to work with another guide dog puppy, Augustus. I was able to walk him up and down the main street and received pointers from another puppy raiser.

There is a process that you have to go through before you are approved to become a puppy raiser. You have to go to three group meetings consecutively, put in an application, get one-on-one training, and puppy sit before you get your own puppy. You have to watch educational videos that show techniques on how to raise and train a puppy.

After I was approved to become a puppy-sitter, my family bought the appropriate tools that I would need to have for my own puppy. A kennel that is large enough was bought along with bowls, treat bag, and a leash. I am going to be watching Glee, a five month old Labrador puppy, for over a week for my puppy-sitting requirements. I am lucky, because once the school approves my project, I’ll be able to raise Glee and since we already know each other it should be much easier.

Today is my first day with Glee and although it is a bit challenging, I’m excited and can’t wait to share more with you on my blog! Watch later this week for another update on how the puppy-sitting is going!!

Rowan

Leave a Reply

